Hawaii highlights on day 1

No point in shuffling my feet, right? Up at 5:30 for my first excursion; a tour of Pearl Harbour & the Arizona memorial.

And off I went on a bunch of yawning tourists. And why not? Pure tourist-ana. I have no trouble at all with doing “tourist” stuff. I’ve long since given up being a tourist snob, looking down my nose at pre-packaged tours. So what if it’s not the “authentic experience.” Some travellers can be such snobs.

The coach dropped myself off at the memorial area. I had a choice of spending more time there or getting a city tour. I’ll do the city tour later in this stop.

So I started with a look through the submarine Bowfish.

Now, from movies you probably think you have a good idea of how cramped it is inside. You have a basic understanding that you might bump your head on occasion.

Well, I’m here to tell you that no, you don’t. I know you’re saying to yourself, “Yeah, I do.”

No, really, you don’t.

From there, a guided tour of the battleship Missouri followed. It, really, is Way bigger than you think. Marvel at how such an enormous machine can float.

From there, a tour of the memorial at the battleship Arizona. It started with a 15 minute film giving the spectator some background on the war in the Pacific. The actual tour of the white memorial is only about 15 minutes, but I must admit that eyes were misting up-mine included. Americans are good at this stuff; memorializing that war dead just up to, but not crossing, the line of saccharine sentimentality. Gotta give them credit on that.

Back to the hotel, then to THE BEACH! Beautiful day, warm water, sandy bottom… reminded me of Red Bay, actually. Sandbars, gentle waves, a few surfers out hunting for THE best wave.

Everyone having a good time.

Me too.

5 thoughts on “Hawaii highlights on day 1

  1. Carol Fisher says:

    sounds awesome, such a long time since I’ve been there, but yes, my eyes misted too.

  2. Pam says:

    Oooo sounds interesting! But I must say – your description of the beach sounds the best! Enjoy!

  3. Craig Fisher says:

    Sounds like a great time so far. I was in a sub in San Francisco. You are absolutely right about how cramped it is. Unless you’ve been in one, you really have no idea. Enjoy the beach. Didja bring your speedo? đŸ™‚

  4. SteveH says:

    I can understand the strong emotions that can stir when you are talking about people who you don’t even know that give their lives for your way of life.
    Enjoy the beaches and the scenery my friend!

Leave a comment