Diamond Head trek

Diamond Head looks like a mountain jutting into the southeastern Pacific but it’s actually the remnants of a volcanic crater. It’s comprised of basaltic rock & lava ash. You can crumble the rock in your hands.

So was the information from the trekking guide yesterday morning.

Diamond Head apparently got it’s name from European sailors hundreds of years ago when they saw light sparkling off the mountainside. Thinking they had just struck it rich, they scrambled to the shore in flapping excitement only to find that no diamonds were there, just some sparkly worthless volcanic glass.

The whole chain of islands is all pumice, lava ash and basalt. In fact, there are no valuable minerals at all. No iron, nickel, gold, certainly no diamonds.

The tour guide told us all this while we huffed and puffed (I think I can, I think I can) up our way to the summit. Breathtaking view all the way around. Truly stunning.

The tour ended 2 hours later, dropping me off at the hotel.

Then another fruitless search for some connector to join my camera & phone. I’ll eventually find one (I think I can, I think I can), just not today.

Off to the Atlantis tour submarine on Saturday.

Before I sign off here, I need to thank Stephanie Harvey, my travel agent at Cruise Shop Centers in Kitchener, for her tireless work on arranging this trip. A couple of months ago, totally on a whim, I presented her with an impossible itinerary in a impossible timeline with an impossible budget. Truly the professional, she totally exceeded my expectations, and she’s the reason that I’m taking this once-in-a-lifetime trip. Stephanie, mere thanks aren’t enough!

If anyone is interested in contacting her, let me know by email and I’ll make the connection happen.

One thought on “Diamond Head trek

  1. Stephanie says:

    Thanks for the kind words Morgan. Sounds like you are having an amazing time.

Leave a Reply

