No Space Aliens Here Either

When I was an insufferable little kid I remember seeing a TV program based on the writing of Erich von Daniken. The book was called Chariots of the Gods, and theorized that much of human history included contact with extraterrestrials. It was this contact, and some help, of aliens that allowed our ancestors to build things like the pyramids, Machu Picchu and other massive structures.

The book also theorized that some lines carved into the earth which could only be seen properly from the air were also due to aliens.

Balderdash.

As much as I’d like to think that space aliens visited earth in our distant past, it just doesn’t add up.

I wanted to see for myself so I booked a flight over the Nazca plain. I shared the 8-seat Cessna Caravan with an Air France crew that was taking a few days off: two 777 pilots and five attendants.

The entire flight took about 90 minutes – 30 minutes getting there, 30 minutes over the plain and 30 minutes getting back.

The pilot wanted to make sure that everyone got a good look at the lines which meant for some wingstands and some sideslips which made for an exciting ride. Good fun!

It’s widely held by the scientific community – those who study this stuff anyway – that the lines and representations of animals were simply copies of what these people thought were astrological symbols in the night sky.

To account for their size, it’s not much of a stretch that the representations of birds, monkeys etc. were made in small size first, then scaled up and carved into the ground.

So why are there straight lines everywhere?

Beats me. But just because we can’t figure something out doesn’t mean our space buddies did it.

So, sorry everyone. As much as I’d like to think that our ancestors had some extraterrestrial input, of just didn’t happen.

Probably.

**********
If there’s something that’s of interest to you travel-wise that I haven’t covered, by all means let me know. I’ll help if I can.
**********

One thought on “No Space Aliens Here Either

  1. Pam says:

    Very cool! The lines remind me of how ice on ponds looks lined and slightly cracked.

Leave a Reply

