Lima, Peru. Your mother was wrong.

I promised to be honest in the blog.

In that spirit, I have to say that I wasn’t terribly impressed when landing in Lima.

It was brown. All brown. Brownbrownbrownbrown. Little square buildings, also brown.

Hmph.

Airport & the like, though, were hassle-free. Well, almost, as these things go but no big deal.

Robert, the Goway rep, ensured that I got to the right hotel. No problem there.

Time to explore.

My first stop was, of all places, a hidden mall.

“Hidden?” you ask?

“Yeppers, hidden,” I answer.

Lima, a city of 10 million (!!) is situated on basically a cliff that overlooks the Pacific. To spoil that view would be a crime. So what’s been done is to situate the mall – mostly restaurants from little coffee shops to TGI Friday’s – below line-of-sight into the cliff itself. In order to access it, just go down some stairs and an escalator.

Cool idea. Works well. I had a snack & continued wearing out my sneakers.

My first impressions of Lima were wrong. Very wrong. If your mother said that first impressions are lasting impression, she’s wrong.

This is a vibrant, colourful and dynamic place. Traffic is chaotic, just as you’d expect in a city like this.

I took a walk down one of the main thoroughfares and was impressed with what I saw. Busy shops everywhere. Two guys arguing, in a good-natured manner, about something. Looks like they’ve been friends for years.

People look you in the eye here. A smile offered gets one in return.

I’m liking this place so far.

I’ve been walking for a while.

Totally lost.

Thankfully, these people have all the time in the world for a bumbling stranger like me. I get back to the hotel easily with the guidance of strangers.

My first impressions were so wrong.

And I’m glad about that.

*******

Remember all the agony trying to get my pictures from my camera to the tablet so I could upload pictures in the blog? Well, I now have a new camera since the old one quit and it might be a while before I get the new one working with the tablet too. I’ll get it figured out as fast as I can.

Leave a Reply

