Sentosa Island

When I was in Singapore years ago I took a boat trip to Sentosa Island. The island wasn’t much to speak of then. Green grass, couple of small temples, the pungent scent of warring incense. I remember walking around, seeing if there was anything of interest.

Not too much. Mind you, I do recall the peace and quiet, away from the hawkers, traffic and blaring radios.

Fast forward to 2012. Things are a little bit different.

Sentosa is like Disneyland. No, it actually is Disneyland but without sanction by the real Disney people. It’s got a fairytale castle. It’s got it’s share of whirl-and-hurl rides. It’s even got a pirate exhibition, the promotional material sporting some dude in pirate regalia who looks suspiciously like Johnny Depp.

How do they get away with this?

I’ve no idea, but they do.

I took the cable car to get to the island. Mind you, just reading that will give you no idea of the agony it took to get proper instructions to get to the cable car station. Good gawd. But no matter.

The cable car itself was an enjoyable 7 or 8 minutes over the water that separates Sentosa from the mainland.

Once I arrived I joined a tour group that took me to a maritime museum and a simulated typhoon while a 360° movie showed a film and water splashed on theatre goers.

But the interesting part, for me, was the underwater exhibition.

Now, those of you who’ve been following this might think, “But he said he’s bored with such things. He said he’s seen better exhibitions in pet stores.”

And you’re right. But this one has one difference. It’s apparently the largest such exhibition on the planet.

It truly is an amazing spectacle. I’ll post a couple of photos, though they can only hint at the size of these tanks.

Saw them, great, now time to go. The crush of people, the unremitting noise, the busy-ness of it all was wearing me paper thin. I was relieved to leave.

So, did I enjoy it? The cable car and aquarium, yes. The rest of it, well, it was just too much for me.

So I’m glad I went, glad I left, no desire to return.

And no, I didn’t bump in to a Johnny Depp lookalike.

Now, where are my headache pills?

Cable cars to & from the island

Cable cars to & from the island

One of the line-ups to enter an exhibition.

One of the line-ups to enter an exhibition.

Now tell me that the castle isn't a dead ringer for the one at Disneyland. (Please excuse the poor quality. It was taken through a gondola window.)

Now tell me that the castle isn’t a dead ringer for the one at Disneyland. (Please excuse the poor quality. It was taken through a gondola window.)

One of the aquariums. Pretty awesome.

One of the aquariums. Pretty awesome.

Smaller aquarium

Smaller aquarium

There were a number of these tanks. Hard to get a good photo with so many people around.

There were a number of these tanks. Hard to get a good photo with so many people around.

Leave a Reply

