Happy Birthday Mom!

I’d like to take a few moments from the travel blog and side-track just a little bit.

It’s my mom’s birthday on Nov 28. I think she’s turning 74. (Sorry if I got that wrong, mom!)

And she is not just an amazing mom, she’s one amazing person.

Someone once told me that there are two types of people: givers and takers.

Well, I don’t know if that’s right, but if it is my mom is the epitome of a giver. The older I get the more I realize that.

I now consider myself as extremely lucky in getting to know her less as a mom and more of a full human being, a friend who I can go to if I need unbiased advice, a sympathetic ear or a just a lunch companion.

I have relied on her in countless ways, and she has relied on me occasionally too. I like that. Less mother/son and more respected adult.

There’s no way I can ever repay for all that she has done for me. Instead, I try to live my life in a way that is respectful of the values she has taught me.

I won’t always get it right, but when I do fail the blame belongs to me, not the way I was raised.

I love you, mom, and I hope it’s OK to say so publicly like this.

***********

Today is filled with domesticity. Laundry. Short trip to the pharmacy. Catch up on some long-neglected correspondence. A day without excursions and other plans. And that suits me fine.

I’m travelling tomorrow & won’t get into my Darwin hotel until well after midnight. That means no blog entry tomorrow and maybe the day after as well, but I’ll get back to blogging soon afterwards.

Leave a Reply

