Unplanned Plans Make The Best Results!

Well, the day didn’t quite turn out as planned. It turned out better than I could have planned.

On a whim, I went to the ferry terminal & bought a round trip ticket to & from Manly Island, basically a peninsula across from Sydney Harbour. Took the Lady Northcott, a ferry that’s been in service for 40 years.

And am I ever glad I did. It’s way more relaxed and way easier to get around than Sydney. Don’t get me wrong, Sydney is great. Manly is just slower paced.

On my ferry over I got chatting to Ed and Cheryl, both long-time Sydney-siders (as they like to call themselves) but hadn’t been to Manly in decades and were just taking a day trip. They’re both retired, he from the Navy and she from being a medical secretary. Very nice people.

Manly’s a good place just to walk around, get a coffee & sandwich & take in the generally relaxed pace. There are well-marked walking trails that take you around beaches, through residential areas and small sidewalk cafe places.

I wandered around for a while, had a bit of lunch, then caught a return ferry, the Freshwater, back to Sydney.

The ferry terminal is right by the Opera House so I walked over & got a tour ticket.

And I found it as amazing on the inside as the outside.

That tour lasted about an hour, then the guide said that there’s a concert of Russian classical music this eve.

I don’t listen to classical music that much but I do enjoy Russian classical. So I bought a ticket and am going tonight.

Now, none of this was planned – well, I did plan on touring e Opera House, granted – most of it just happened. Isn’t that always the way? We work hard to make plans & control things, but unplanned things work out better? I like that. I’ll bet you do too.

2 thoughts on “Unplanned Plans Make The Best Results!

  1. Pam says:

    Sounds so wonderful! A perfect day!

  2. Michelle says:

    The best laid plans are the ones not made. Sounds like a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

